Trail Blazer Knowledge Base:

Home : Database User Managment : Revoke a User's Access to your Database

Knowledge Base



Article ID: KB153
Keyword Name: User, Revoke, Remove, Delete, Access, Security, Users, Security Attribute, Notifications
Created: December 02, 2015
Viewed: 4313

Revoke a User's Access to your Database

Click Here to view this article as a PDF.

Author: Joel Kristenson
Last Updated: 2015-12-01


This article will teach you how to quickly revoke a user’s access to your database, these steps have been updated in 2015 so that it takes far fewer steps than it used to.  This can be useful if someone leaves your team/organization, gets fired, or you simply want to adjust their security clearance levels.  You must have full administrative security access to the System Manager in Trail Blazer in order to add/edit/remove a user.


IMPORTANT: I used the ‘political’ version of Trail Blazer for this article so when I refer to ‘voters’ it could be label Donors, Contacts, or something else in your database, but the steps are basically the same.

First locate this user by pulling up a list of all the database users.

Navigate to the Voters (Donors/Contacts) list.

Navigate to the Admin tab, the Logon sub-tab, check Allow Windows-based Access, and click [Search].  In my example it produced two user records with access to my database.

Select the user you need to revoke or limit security access for by clicking on any of the blue hyperlinks to open their record card.  In this example I selected the user “Mark Panger” as displayed in the picture below:

Navigate to the Admin tab, and the Logon sub-tab, and click the red [Revoke All Access] button as shown in the image below:

Click [OK] to proceed.

Click [Save and Close] to finish this procedure.

Click [Search] once you’re back in the Voters (Donors/Contacts) list to refresh the list of DB UsersIn my example the list dropped from 2 users to 1.

That sums up the basic steps to remove a user’s security as well as the email notifications they receive for online occurrences.

For more information, continue reading to see what actually takes place in their record card when the security is revoked, and take a look at the Related Resources at the bottom for quick links to other related articles & videos.

This is what happens to the ‘Security and Notification’ attributes in a user’s record card when their security is revoked:

IMPORTANT!  Never give out your username/password/database name (unless you are creating a new user) and always keep them stored in a secure place.  Never share the same user account for 2 individuals (the reason being that you can more easily perform audits and track work and it increases security *unless you’re using the Mobile Poll Watching app.

If you have any questions or are uncertain about users and security, give the Trail Blazer support team a call at 1-866-909-8700.

Related Resources

Article: Adding a Database User and Setting Security Settings

Article: How to Change your Username, and Password Credentials

Article: Email Notification of Web Occurrences

Article: Website Email Notification

Article: Mobile Base Camp Articles

Video: Multiple Database Logon

Video: Eblasts – Setting people up to receive test (draft) emails

Video: Mobile Base Camp

Trail Blazer Live Support  Phone:  1-866-909-8700   Email:



* As a policy we require that you have taken our intro training class before calling or emailing our live support team.

Click here to view our calendar for upcoming classes and events.  Feel free to sign up other members on your team for the same training.

* After registering you’ll receive a confirmation email with the instructions for how to log into the GoToMeeting session where we host our live interactive trainings.

* This service is included in your contract.

Find our more information about Trail Blazer Campaign Services Inc. [click here]

Powered by: ClickCarts KnowledgeBase